

Student Government Association Sam Houston State University

A member of The Texas State University System

★ Box 2476 ★ Huntsville, Texas 77340 ★

★ 936-294-1938 ★ SGA@shsu.edu ★



Resolution F-23-05 Theta Epsilon 50th Anniversary Recognition

Author: Director Brad Williams

Co-Sponsors: Vice-President Jared Scott

Chief of Staff Nicole Ivory Date: October 31, 2023

Whereas: The Sam Houston State University Student Government Association acts as the "Official

Voice of the Student Body"; and,

Whereas: Sam Houston State University (SHSU) Student Government Association recognizes the

foundation and charter of the Theta Epsilon Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Incorporated, chartered on the campus of Sam Houston State University

on November 9th, 1973:

Whereas: The Student Government Association recognizes the accomplishments built upon its

charter members: Sonja Bihms, Sheila Cobb, Carol Hightower Parker, Wanda Howard-Horton, Sue Jones, Margaret McGowen, Cordette Morris, Jacquelyn Murray, Mary Satterwhite, Jacquelyn Whitaker, Diane Williams, and Sandra

Williams.

Whereas: Student Government Association congratulates The Theta Epsilon Chapter of Alpha

Kappa Alpha for celebrating 50 years on the campus of Sam Houston State University. By bringing to our University and the Huntsville community, programs such as: Strengthening the Black Woman, Economic Empowerment,

and Pink October

Whereas: We, The Student Government Association of Sam Houston State University (SHSU) Acknowledge and

support the sorority's motto "By Culture and By Merit",

Whereas: We, The Student Government Association of Sam Houston State University (SHSU), acknowledge the

sorority's initiative of "Soaring to Greater Heights of Service & Sisterhood" led by

International President & CEO, Danette Anthony Reed

We, The Student Government Association of Sam Houston State University (SHSU), congratulate the Theta Epsilon Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. and all accomplishments spanning over the organizations 50-year history;

Be it finally resolved:

Copies of this resolution will be sent to The Theta Epsilon Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., Faculty Advisor Jeanine Bias, Dean of Students Chelsea Smith, Assistant Dean of Students Victoria White, Interim Vice President for Student Affairs Drew Miller, The Houstonian, Channel 7 News and Student Body President Veronica Calderon.

eronica Calderon

President Secretar

The Official Voice of the Student Body